Connect with us

Skio Pricing: Plans and Real Costs

Skio Pricing

Marketing

Skio Pricing: Plans and Real Costs

Skio Pricing: Plans and Real Costs

Reading Time: 4 Minutes

Skio pricing has one published plan. Scale costs $499 a month billed annually or $599 month to month, plus a 1% + 20 cent fee on every order that involves a subscription (skio.com/pricing, 4 October 2026). Enterprise is custom. Migration, onboarding, SMS and analytics are included rather than sold as add-ons.

What will Skio cost my store each month?

Three numbers set your bill. The first is the platform fee: $499 a month if you commit to a year, $599 if you pay monthly (skio.com/pricing, 4 October 2026). The App Store listing shows the same plan as $599 a month or $5,988 a year, a 17% saving, which works out to the same $499 (apps.shopify.com/skio, 4 October 2026).

The second is a percentage. Skio takes 1% of the value of each order that involves a subscription. This is a percentage-of-revenue model: as subscription revenue grows, so does the fee. The third is a per-transaction charge of 20 cents on the same orders (skio.com/pricing, 4 October 2026), which weighs heaviest on low-ticket catalogues: 20 cents is 1.7% of a $12 order and 0.2% of a $90 order.

On a store processing 1,000 subscription orders a month at a $50 average, the arithmetic is $499 plus $500 in percentage fees plus $200 in per-order fees: $1,199 on annual billing, or $1,299 month to month. Those are our calculations from the published rates, not a quote (skio.com/pricing, 4 October 2026). The page defines the fee base as “orders involving a subscription”, so confirm in writing how one-time items in a mixed cart are treated.

Everything else is bundled. Migration services, onboarding, Journeys, SMS and analytics are listed as included on every tier, the App Store marks the app as working with Shopify Checkout, and Enterprise is listed only as “Custom”.

Is Skio cheaper than Recharge for a store my size?

Not below a certain volume. Recharge publishes Starter at $99 a month plus 1.49% plus 19 cents per transaction, and Plus at $499 plus 1.34% plus 19 cents (getrecharge.com/pricing, 4 October 2026). Its App Store listing also shows a $25 a month plan with no transaction fees on your first 50 subscribers, a plan that does not appear on the pricing page itself (apps.shopify.com/subscription-payments, 4 October 2026).

Against Plus, Skio on annual billing has the same $499 base and a lower variable rate on every order, so it is cheaper at effectively any order value (both pricing pages, 4 October 2026). Against Starter, Skio carries a $400 higher base and saves roughly 0.49% per order, less a penny on the per-transaction charge. At a $50 average order that is about 24 cents saved per order, so Skio only breaks even with Starter at around 1,700 subscription orders a month. Below that, Recharge Starter is cheaper on paper.

Recharge wins on more than entry price. It lists a 60-day free trial on Starter; Skio’s pricing page and App Store listing show no trial or free plan at all. Recharge has 3,124 App Store reviews at 4.8 to Skio’s 242 at 5.0, and has been in the App Store since October 2014 against Skio’s April 2021 (both listings, 4 October 2026). Plus also includes end-to-end migration support, so migration is not a Skio-only advantage.

Where Skio wins is the simpler bill: one tier, a lower take rate, every feature in the box. A brand weighing Plus has a real decision; a brand under 1,000 subscription orders a month mostly does not. Our Recharge alternatives comparison covers eight platforms side by side.

Should the Recharge acquisition change my decision?

Not yet, but it changes the questions you ask. On 27 April 2026 Recharge announced that Skio was joining the Recharge team, and the App Store listing is now titled “Skio, a Recharge Company” (getrecharge.com blog, 27 April 2026; apps.shopify.com/skio, 4 October 2026). Both companies say the platforms continue to operate independently. Recharge’s post says “nothing is changing today”; Skio’s says it is preserving and shipping features on both platforms “until we have something better to show you”.

Get three things in writing before signing. First, price protection: whether the $499 annual rate and the 1% + 20 cent fee (skio.com/pricing, 4 October 2026) are locked for your term, and how renewal pricing works. Second, a migration commitment in both directions, so that if the platforms converge you are not paying to move twice. Skio says it moves “50k+ subs for breakfast” and its App Store listing promises zero-downtime migration; make that contractual. Third, roadmap exposure: which features are now shared and which remain Skio-only.

Pricing is rarely where subscription revenue leaks most. Involuntary churn from declined cards usually costs more than the gap between a 1% and a 1.34% take rate, which is why we treat failed payment recovery as the first fix on any platform. Across the subscription accounts we manage, [BMO NUMBER: insert the recovered-revenue or involuntary-churn figure you measured, with account count and time window] is the figure we use to size that gap. A managed subscription programme from BMO starts by modelling platform fees against your real order data, and the retention work that follows is laid out in our subscription retention playbook.

In-body table: Skio and Recharge published pricing, 4 October 2026

PlanMonthly feeTransaction feeFree trial listedSource
Skio Scale (annual billing)$4991% + $0.20 per order involving a subscriptionNone listedskio.com/pricing
Skio Scale (monthly billing)$5991% + $0.20 per order involving a subscriptionNone listedskio.com/pricing
Skio EnterpriseCustomCustomNone listedskio.com/pricing
Recharge Starter$991.49% + $0.19 per transaction60 daysgetrecharge.com/pricing
Recharge Plus$4991.34% + $0.19 per transaction, scalable ratesNot stated on pricing pagegetrecharge.com/pricing
Recharge CustomVolume-basedVolume-basedNot statedgetrecharge.com/pricing

Continue Reading
You may also like...
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

More in Marketing

To Top